My mother is globe-trotting around Europe right now with her sister. She went out and bought an Android expressly for the purpose of communicating over-seas, because my Uncle refuses to check email, use Skype etc. She got it just a week or two before leaving.

So I don’t know if this is a carrier-problem, or the result of a 60 year old woman trying to figure out the latest in cell-phone technology, but the day she landed in Gatwick airport, I received 153 text messages telling me that she had landed safely. They were all identical. 

So Perfect Husband went through and deleted all the extras, which is not very easy on my not-so-smart phone.

That night, as I tried to get Babby to sleep at 2 in the morning, I kept detecting the sound of my text-message alert going off downstairs.

Again.

and

again.

AND AGAIN.

The next morning, I went downstairs, turned on the phone, and saw this:

GUESS WHAT? MY MOTHER LANDED SAFELY AT GATWICK.

